On June 10, 2012, The Delaware State Police will begin administering the State’s False Alarm Reduction Program, which was enacted by legislation to encourage alarm users to maintain operational reliability, promote proper use of alarm systems and reduce the amount of false alarms that law enforcement officers respond to. False alarms are a costly and a major public safety concern as they divert law enforcement resources from crimes in progress, other real emergencies, and time spent on routine patrol.
Delaware Law-Title 24 Chapter 12 –False Alarms requires all residents and business owners throughout the State to register their alarms systems. The initial registration period began May 17, 2012 when all security systems and protective service industry professionals were notified by the Delaware State Police Professional Licensing Section to inform all customers and clients of the need to register their alarm systems.
The Delaware State Police initial focus is only on those businesses and residences within the State Police jurisdiction. Wilmington, New Castle County and Newark implemented this program in their jurisdictions more than four years ago. Other municipalities could become part of this false alarm reduction program in the future.
The first three instances of a false alarm will not incur a fine. For the fourth false alarm a $50 civil penalty will be assessed, fifth false alarm $75 civil penalty, followed by a $100 penalty for a sixth false alarm. The seventh false alarm or any thereafter within a calendar year will be subject to a $250 civil penalty for each offense. If Troopers respond to an alarm that has not been registered, the alarm user will have thirty (30) days to register the alarm or a $50 fine will be assessed.
Residents and business owners can continue to register their alarm systems through Cry Wolf, the vendor selected by the Delaware State Police to administer the program. Registration is free and is available through a secure website at https://www.crywolf.us/delaware. In addition to online alarm registration and administration, the website offers information about the false alarm law, answers to frequently asked questions, false alarm reduction tips, payment of fines and more.
Any questions or further information regarding the registration process and applicable fines should be directed to Cry Wolf at 877-665-29279.
As a courtesy, Burns & McBride registers those customers whose systems they have installed. Once registered the homeowner will receive a registration confirmation showing their system number. They will also receive a password to the system via e-mail. They can access the system at any time using their e-mail as a login and their password.
About Burns & McBride
Our job is to provide essential services to homeowners. one of those essential services is home security and automation. We provide affordable home automation to help protect families, allow them to use energy more wisely and simplify their lives.The Burns & McBride Smart, Safe Home system uses Z-wave technology to tie things like locks, thermostats and lights together so that you can control them whether you are home or away. Burns & McBride has been providing essential home services since 1949. To learn more about Burns & McBride’s Smart, Safe Home can help you – callus at 302-656-5110 or visit our website at www.burnsandmcbride.com